And then they…

the things we do to live a better life.

My Daughters in Art – Alma in “The Daughters of Edward D. Boit” by Sargent

And Then They Dance Party

I was inspired by this photo of our little dance party today.  I love how Alma is just looking at the camera (on a timer, BTW).

The Daughters of Edward D. Boit, by John Singer Sargent, 1882

The lighting and stance, dress and look of Alma totally reminded me of one of my favorite paintings.  I have loved this portrait since I was a child.  “The Daughters of Edward D. Boit” by John Singer Sargent.  The lighting is fantastic, and the girls all have such a beautiful, mysterious presence. I thought it would be fun to try to put Alma into the painting.

Alma as a Daughter of Edward D. Boit by SargentI hope to put Alma and Harriet into more of my favorites as time goes on.  This was a fun way to start.  It’s obviously not perfect, and really show me how much I have to learn with photo editing, but I’m happy with how it turned out.

Watch for Alma and Harriet to pop up in more paintings in the future!

Single Post Navigation

What do you think?

